Frattare falls short in Frick vote

Jenifer Langosch/

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum announced on Monday that long-time baseball broadcaster Jon Miller has been named the Ford C. Frick Award winner for 2010. Former Pirates broadcaster Lanny Frattare had been one of 10 finalists for the honor, which is presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

A 20-member panel selected Miller from a list of candidates that included Frattare, Billy Berroa, Skip Caray, Tom Cheek, Jacques Doucet, Graham McNamee, Jon Miller, Joe Nuxhall, Herb Score and Dave Van Horne. Miller, who is most recognized for calling ESPN’s Sunday Night Baseball telecasts, will be honored at the Hall of Fame induction weekend in Cooperstown, N.Y., in late July.

Frattare, who spent 33 years as a broadcaster for the Pirates before stepping down after the 2008 season, is likely to continue garnering serious consideration for the award in years to come. He called more Pirates games than anyone else in franchise history before going into retirement.

Follow me on Twitter: @LangoschMLB

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: