Pittsburgh writers hand out a pair of awards

Jenifer Langosch/MLB.com

The Pittsburgh chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America has chosen Joel Hanrahan and Neil Walker as the recipients of the chapter’s pair of postseason awards.

Hanrahan was voted the winner of the Roberto Clemente Award, which goes to the team’s Most Valuable Player. Hanrahan, who finished the 2011 season with 40 saves in his first full season as the team’s closer, was followed in the voting by Andrew McCutchen and Walker.

Walker was named the winner of the Chuck Tanner Award, an honor given to a player who is especially good in dealing with the media. Charlie Morton and Hanrahan followed Walker in this voting. 

Follow me on Twitter: @LangoschMLB

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: