Double-A Springfield earns team honor

Jenifer Langosch/

On Friday, Baseball America announced that it has selected Springfield, the Cardinals’ Double-A affiliate, as its Team of the Year for 2012. Springfield won 77 games in the Texas League and then went on to capture the league championship title under manager Mike Shildt.

Shildt has won three championships in three consecutive years with three different affiliates.

“We are honored to be named the 2012 Team of the Year by Baseball America,” Matt Gifford, Springfield’s vice president and general manager, said in a statement released by the club. “This is a tremendous honor for arguably one of the best teams in Springfield Cardinals history. It’s a tribute to player development and the coaching staff for putting together a great club and to the players for their hard work throughout a long season.”

Highlighting Springfield’s 2012 roster was outfielder Oscar Taveras, who was named Texas League player of the year  after leading the league in batting average (.321), extra-base hits (67) and doubles (67). He ranked near the top of the league in several other offensive categories. Top prospects Kolten Wong and Trevor Rosenthal were among several promising young players to spend time in Springfield this past year.

Follow me on Twitter: @LangoschMLB

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: