Former Cards fall short in Hall of Fame pre-integration voting

Jenifer Langosch/

One of the first announcements of the 2012 Winter Meetings came at 10 a.m. CT on Monday, when it was revealed that former umpire Hank O’Day, former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and catcher/third baseman Deacon White had been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. The selection of these three was made by a Pre-Integration Era Committee of 16 voters that included, among others, Cardinals owner Bill DeWitt Jr.

A total of 10 people – including players, owners and umpires — were considered by the committee. Three of them — shortstop Marty Marion, owner Samuel Breadon and pitcher Tony Mullane — had St. Louis ties, but none of those three received more than three votes. A minimum of 12 votes were required for induction.

To read more about the Hall of Fame credentials of Breadon, Marion and Mullane, you can reference this blog entry from last month.

Follow me on Twitter: @LangoschMLB

1 Comment

I don’t get the Deacon White induction. I mean, I guess I get it from an historical perspective, but not from a statistical and player perspective.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: